Ecuador!

image

The queue to cross the border from Colombia to Ecuador was very long due to Colombian holidays and Ecuadorians returning after the fiestas in Pasto. I crossed by foot, carrying out all the usual immigration checks but there were no security checks until we were 10 minutes down the road by bus.  Getting transport from the border to the nearest town was a nightmare! People were literally fighting each other for a place in a collectivo and noone had heard of queuing! Eventually I jumped in a cab with some locals who felt sorry for me waiting as long as they did!

They had mastered the art of queuing in at the bus station in Tulcan but there were not enough buses for people which caused delays due to many angry customers. In the end I managed to get a ticket to Otavalo and spent my remaining Colombian pesos on snacks for the bus.

image

Chigonguna warning poster! Would have.been more useful on journey into Colombia!

Leave a comment