San Cipriano

After a few late nights dancing salsa at the feria in Cali I decided to relax a little in rwmote San Cipriano.  I took the 2.5 hour bus to Zaragoza which is a village on the Cali – Buenaventura road. Then I took ‘La Bruja’ (the witch) which is the villagers homemade transportation system that uses the old train tracks. It is a wooden board powered by the motorbike engine and runs along the track. It goes very fast and there’s nothing to hold on to! There are 2 village entrances, one nearer Cali called Zaragoza and another nearer Buenaventura called Cordoba.

image

image

image

At one point a car going the opposite way was speeding towards us onbthe track. I had to get off while the driver took the whole car off to let the other
one pass!

After surviving la bruja I signed into the national park and walked into San Cipriano, a remote afro carribean village in the jungle. It began to rain so I  had lunch which was typical sancocho de pescado (fish soup) and fried fish dinner.

I started to walk to the waterfall trail called ‘sendero de amor ‘ only to be caught in heavy rain. I sheltered in a family restaurant and met 5 year old Darwin who insisted on coming with me on the walk! After

covering my rucksack with a plastic bag I contnued the walk with Darwin wanted tovrace most of the wayand tried to catch fish in the river with his boot!

image

image

Little girl watching the rain.

image

image

image

image

image

I was the onky tourist to stay in San Cipriano that night. I checked into hotel David in a very basic room for CP15000 and listened to the rain and the jungle noises outside.

image

The next day I went tubing with Camillo a local guy. You can rent a tube for CP5000 and walk up the river then float down back to the village. The water was crystal clear and the river was shallow with a few small rapids.

image

Then it was time to head back to Cali to catch the last day of the feria. I went to the Cordoba entrance which was a faster and more beautiful journey. I got the last space next the driver on the bus to Cali and the driver bought me a cheese and bocadillo (guava jelly sweet) to try!

image

image

image

image

Leave a comment