Welcome to my blog!

I’ve never written a blog before but a few people have suggested they’d like to keep updated with my travels and it’s a good way to keep a diary without the fuss of a paper copy which will inevitably get wet, squashed and torn in my very well-used backpack!  I will try to include links to places I’ve been in case you are also travelling to the same destination in the future and want some recommendations on places to stay, things to do etc.  Thank you for taking an interest and taking time out to read my blog!


I’m about 1 week away from starting my trip and I am gathering my essential travel items.  Here are my top 5 essential travel items!

1.  Silk sleeping bag liner.  Super lightweight and great for using as sleeping bag in hot places, putting inside your sleeping bag in cold places to double the warmth, protecting you from suspiciously unclean sheets and helping to keep out those creepy crawlies!

2.  Head torch.  I’ve actually never had one of these before now but I’ve seen many backpackers use them wisely for jungle toilet trips at night, reading when everyone else is asleep in a hostel room and searching for that one sock at the very bottom of your backpack before an early morning trek!

3. MP3 player.  For long boring bus journeys, for when you are fed up of the local favourite music (usually reggaton!) and need to hear some quality tunes and for drowning out any scary bumps n the night or weird animal noises!

4. Lonely Planet guide book.  Not to be used religiously, the clues in the title GUIDE book!   But really handy for information on last minute accommodation or journey options.

5. Hardcore mosquito repellent.  I’ve had most of the relevant vaccinations but it’s best to keep those blood- thirsty creatures well away!

Please tell me your essential items as maybe I’ve forgotten something important!

One thought on “Welcome to my blog!

Leave a comment